NDP’s student journalists and its literary magazine took top honors in the Arizona Interscholastic Press Association’s annual scholastic journalism convention Tuesday at ASU. NDP journalists garnered a total of 18 individual awards.

Competing with other high schools from around the state, The Seraphim and NDP Live! placed second in the General Excellence online newspaper and broadcasting competition, respectively. Perspective literary magazine won third-place honors. 

The Seraphim staff writers won a total of 14 individual awards—twice as many as the previous year–for writing and infographics in the Newspaper competition. NDP Live! placed in five different Broadcasting/Radio/Film categories.

Receiving the highest honor—superior rating—were four of the five NDP Live! entries, the winners as follows: superior awards to recent graduates Gabby Alessio and Chris Caldwell in both the news anchors and the intro/outro categories; superiors also to the club for the personality profile/feature story “Patron Saint Awardee 2019: George Prelock” and in the short film category for “NDP Bell System Skit.” In the music video competition, senior Andy Knoll won an excellent award for “ITB by Father Kurt Perera.”

In the newspaper competition, The Seraphim received three superior awards, six excellent awards, and four honorable mentions. Individual writers, all from the Class of 2019, and their awards were as follows:

Lacey Robertson: superior awards for the feature story “What Gets Under Your Skin?” and the news story “Moth Mania: Its Cause and Treatment”; an excellent award for the review “Halloween 18 True to Series” and honorable mentions for in-depth reporting, “The Rise of the Fitness Culture,” and the information graphic “NDP Fitness and Health Favorites.

Erika Kramer: superior in sports writing for “Teams Get Credit in New PE Class,” an excellent for the infographic “Juul Risks,” and honorable mentions for in-depth reporting for “The Juul Epidemic” and a collaborative review “Best Doughnuts in Valley” with Sabrina Arevalo.

Skylar Brown: excellent awards for the sports story “Ready, Set, eSports!” and the review “Zero Degrees Rolls In at an 8” and an honorable mention in in-depth reporting for “Social Media Impacts Body Image.”

Sabrina Arevalo: an excellent award for in-depth reporting, “Understanding Depression” and an honorable mention for the review “Best Doughnuts in Valley” with Erika Kramer.

To recognize excellence in scholastic journalism and to educate high school journalists, the AIPA convention is held each fall at the ASU Memorial Union. This year’s keynote speaker to the more than 600 students and teachers in attendance was Cronkite School professor Fenanda Santos. 

NDP students attending the convention were seniors Jarod Boginske, Danny Doherty, Danielle Drake, Sam Montano, Dylan O’Hara, Sophie O’Shei, Matthew Rogers, Andrew Sodhi; juniors Juliana Montes, Noah Lederer; sophomores Edward Breck, Miles Morrison, Jacob Wetherell; and freshman Riley Stiller.

Overseeing the group were NDP Live! coordinator Kim Haub and English teachers Megan O’Malley and Jan Carteaux. Ms. Carteaux, AIPA board member and convention co-chair, also presented a writing session.